Skip to content

Pandemic Archiving

Future historians, researchers, and families will need records to learn the history of the COVID-19 pandemic. The importance of preserving people’s stories has not been lost on the many organizations and institutions represented below, which have instituted pandemic collecting and archiving projects.

Many are doing this work without access to significant resources or adequate government support, and so doubly deserve recognition and appreciation for their efforts.

The hope is that this list, originally prepared by the Association of Canadian Archivists, will continue to grow and evolve. If you know of any pandemic collecting projects not on this list, please contact us through the site.

National

The ArQuives, Canada’s LGBTQ2+ Archives, The Queerantine Project – Call for Submissions

Canadian Civil Liberties Association, “Prison Pandemic Papers” https://ccla.org/press-release/prison-pandemic-papers-documenting-impact-of-covid-19-in-jails-prisons-penitentiaries-across-canada-launched/

Canadian Museum of Human Rights, “Share Your Story.” https://humanrights.ca/stories/share-your-story

Historica Canada “Canada During COVID-19: A Living Archive” https://www.historicacanada.ca/productions/educational-videos/canada-during-covid-19-a-living-archive

Ingenium, “Curating Under Quarantine.” https://ingeniumcanada.org/channel/boards/curating-under-quarantine

Journal of the Plague Year “The Canada Collection” (University of Western Ontario) https://covid-19archive.org/s/canada/page/welcome

University of Ottawa, “Telling Her-Stories in Canada: Documenting COVID-19 in Your Voice.” https://biblio.uottawa.ca/omeka2/her-stories-covid-19/

Provincial

NBM-MNB. “Pandemic Stories,”  https://www.nbm-mnb.ca/pandemic-stories/ (New Brunswick)

Prince Edward Island Public Archives and Records Office, “Public Archives Covid-19 Project.” https://www.princeedwardisland.ca/en/information/education-and-lifelong-learning/public-archives-covid-19-project

Royal BC Museum and Archives, “Tell Us Your Covid-19 Story.” https://royalbcmuseum.bc.ca/tell-us-your-covid-19-story

University of Manitoba/University of Winnipeg, “Manitoba Covid-19 Outbreak.”https://archive-it.org/collections/14088

University of Saskatchewan, “Covid-19 Community Archive.” https://covid19archive.usask.ca/

University

Athabasca University, “COVID-19 Memory Archive Project.” https://libguides.athabascau.ca/covid-19-memory-archive-project

Carleton University, “COVID-19 Archival Collection – Corporate Records and Archives.” https://carleton.ca/records/carleton-covid-19-archival-collection/

Concordia University, COVID-19 Collection

Mount Royal University, “”Documenting the Pandemic: MRU Community Experiences of Life During Covid-10.” https://library.mtroyal.ca/covid/submissions

University of Toronto Archives & Records Management Services (UTARMS), “COVID-19 Collecting Community Experience Project.” https://utarms.library.utoronto.ca/covid-19

University of Toronto Archives & Records Management Services (UTARMS),” “Documenting COVID-19 Related Work on Campus.’” https://utarms.library.utoronto.ca/covid-19/documenting-covid-19-work-on-campus

Local or Community

Brock University Library, “Documenting COVID-19 in Niagara.”  https://exhibits.library.brocku.ca/s/COVID-Niagara/page/home

City of New Westminster, “Historical Documentation of Covid-19.” https://www.newwestcity.ca/services/arts-and-heritage/museums-and-archives/sb_expander_articles/1784.php

City of Ottawa, Covid-19 Collection.  https://ottawa.ca/en/arts-heritage-and-events/city-ottawa-archives/archives-collection#covid-19-collection

City of Red Deer, COVID-19 Collection

Dundas Museum, “Covid-19 in Dundas.” https://dundasmuseum.ca/archives/covid-19/

“Hamilton Public Library: Local History & Archives | Love Your City Share Your Stories.” http://hamiltonstories.ca/hpl-local-history-archives 

Italian-Canadian Archives of Quebec. https://italiancanadianarchivesquebec.wordpress.com/

Jewish Museum & Archives of British Columbia, JMABC Covid-19 Community Collection

Lakehead University Archives, “COVID-19 Pandemic Collections.” https://archives.lakeheadu.ca/index.php/pandemic

Museum of North Vancouver, “NorthVanStories Living History.” https://monova.ca/northvanstories/

Ontario Jewish Archives, COVID-19 Collection

Queen’s University. https://archive-it.org/collections/13840?page=2&totalResultCount=167

Ryerson University. “How COVID-19 Impacts Indigenous Communities.” https://www.ryerson.ca/news-events/news/2020/05/how-covid-19-impacts-indigenous-communities

Simcoe County Archives, “Collecting Community Responses to the COVID-19 Pandemic – Archives.” https://www.simcoe.ca/Archives/Pages/Collecting_Community_Responses_to_COVID-19.aspx

Thunder Bay Museum. “COVID-19 Pandemic Historical Documentation Project.” https://www.thunderbaymuseum.com/artifacts-archives/covid-19-stories/

University of Western Ontario, “Covid in London, Ontario: Capturing Local Experiences.” https://verne.lib.uwo.ca/s/covid19/item-set/894

Wellington County Museum & Archives, “Covid-19 Time Capsule.” https://www.wellington.ca/en/discover/MUS-donatetoourcollections.aspx


Pandemics Past

COVID-19 is far from the first disease to have had a significant impact on daily Canadian life. Below is a selected list of sites dealing with the history of epidemics and pandemics in Canada.

AIDS

The AIDS Activist History Project https://aidsactivisthistory.ca

The ArQuives, Canada’s LGBTQ2+ Archives, “Canada’s Last Pandemic Wasn’t 1918. It Started in 1982.” https://arquives.ca/newsfeed/canadas-last-pandemic-wasnt-1918-it-started-in-1982/

The Early Days of AIDS – CBC Radio https://www.cbc.ca/radio/rewind/the-early-days-of-aids-1.2837672

HIV in My Day – Community Based Health Equity Research https://onlineacademiccommunity.uvic.ca/healthcbr/project/hiv-in-my-day/

Influenza (1918-1919)

Active History “Learning from Past Pandemics: Resources on the 1918-1919 Influenza Epidemic in Canada” https://activehistory.ca/blog/2020/04/15/learning-from-a-past-pandemic-resources-on-the-1918-1919-influenza-epidemic-in-canada/

Galt Museum & Archives, “Pandemic at Home: The 1918–1919 Flu.” https://www.galtmuseum.com/exhibit/pandemic-at-home

Polio

Laurier Archives, “One Generation’s Experience in Two Pandemics.” [polio & Covid-19] https://laurierarchives.omeka.net/exhibits/show/polio-in-brantford/an-intro-to-polio

Polio in Manitoba – One Great History https://open.spotify.com/episode/6zT3Tkpdtk66AZg5Tc0x09

SARS

Ryerson University. “From SARS to COVID-19: Putting the Spotlight on Anti-Asian Racism.” https://www.ryerson.ca/news-events/news/2020/05/from-sars-to-covid-19-putting-the-spotlight-on-anti-asian-racism/

Tuberculosis

Government of Ontario, “Tuberculosis Records” https://www.archives.gov.on.ca/en/explore/online/health_records/tuberculosis.aspx

Inuvialuit  Regional Corporation “Inuvialuit and the Tuberculosis Epidemic” https://irc.inuvialuit.com/program/history

Manitoba Indigenous Tuberculosis History Project https://indigenoustbhistory.ca

National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health “Tuberculosis Collection” https://www.nccih.ca/1673/Tuberculosis_Collection.nccih?Collectionid=2